CSA: SA ‘A’ squad named for inbound West Indies A Tour

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket South Africa

Cricket South Africa has today announced the South Africa ‘A’ squad for the upcoming three-match four-day tour against West Indies A in late November and December.  

Momentum Multiply Titans batter and four-day captain Neil Brand will lead the 15-player squad, which features Proteas batter Keegan Petersen, Test capped batters Tony de Zorzi and Zubayr Hamza as well as fast bowler Duanne Olivier.  

Proteas red-ball coach Shukri Conrad will oversee the tour and has recalled pace pair Dane Patterson and Hardus Viljoen along with off-spinner Dane Piedt to the national setup.  

There are also first-time inclusions for Western Province batters David Bedingham and Mihlali Mpongwana, North West Dragons all-rounder Ruan de Swardt and Gbets Rocks wicketkeeper Clyde Fortuin.  

Commenting on the squad, Conrad said: “We’ve selected a blend of experienced campaigners and promising talents for the upcoming South Africa A tour against West Indies A.  

“This tour holds immense significance as it will afford players the opportunity to demonstrate their capabilities as we prepare for the international season ahead and build depth within our red-ball pipeline.  

“The squad was selected with the two-match Test series against New Zealand in mind and features players who boast international experience and some that have garnered excellent performances domestically over the last couple of seasons.  

“Neil Brand will captain the side as he possesses that toughness and resilience that we are always after. He has a lot to offer apart from being an opening batter and we’re excited to show what he’s about at this level,” concluded Conrad.  

South Africa ‘A’ squad against West Indies A

Neil Brand (Momentum Multiply Titans, captain), David Bedingham (Western Province), Ruan de Swardt (North West Dragons), Tony de Zorzi (Western Province), Clyde Fortuin (Gbets Rocks), Zubayr Hamza (DP World Lions), Tshepo Moreki (DP World Lions), Mihlali Mpongwana (Western Province), Duanne Olivier (DP World Lions), Dane Patterson (Western Province), Keegan Petersen (Gbets Rocks), Dane Piedt (ITEC Knights), Raynard van Tonder (North West Dragons), Hardus Viljoen (Gbets Rocks) and Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins). 

Tour itinerary

21 – 24 November  

South Africa A vs West Indies A – Willowmoore Park in Benoni  

28 November – 01 December  

South Africa A vs West Indies A – Buffalo Park in East London  

05 – 08 December  

South Africa A vs West Indies A – Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein  


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Dolphins Cricket: Maharaj to lead Hollywoodbets Dolphins in T20 Challenge

Photo Credit: Gallo Images The Hollywoodbets Dolphins proudly name number one ranked ICC ODI bowler Keshav Maharaj as captain for...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter