Perth Scorchers Quartet named in Team of the Tournament

Must Read

Photo Credit: Perth Scorchers

Four Scorchers players have been rewarded for their brilliant form during Weber WBBL|09, by earning selection in the 12-player Team of the Tournament, which recognises on-field excellence throughout the regular season.

Scorchers captain Sophie Devine has been included in the Team of the Tournament for a third time in four seasons, after a standout allround campaign which yielded 476 runs at 39.66 with an impressive strike rate of 140.82.

Her crafty seam-bowling at all stages of the innings was pivotal to the Scorchers, finishing with 14 wickets at 21.92 including a best of 3-20 in her most recent spell against the Adelaide Strikers.

The powerful New Zealander proved she is one of the best ball strikers in the competition, blasting 20 sixes in her 14 matches, as she consistently produced match-winning contributions for her team.

Earning Player of the Match on four separate occasions during WBBL|09, Devine’s season was highlighted by a brilliant 101 not out off just 62 balls against Brisbane Heat at Allan Border Field, while compiling three other half-centuries during the competition.

Often regarded as the best leader in the WBBL, the 34-year-old was also named captain of the team for the second time, after guiding the Scorchers to a second-place finish and a home final at the WACA Ground.

Superstar opener Beth Mooney has been named in the Team of the Tournament for a fourth consecutive season, after another consistent season atop the order.

The compact left-hander finished the regular season as the leading run-scorer in the competition with 539 at 53.90, compiling five half-centuries and a century in her 14 innings.

Her class and composure at the crease were a regular feature, while her ability to bat long periods and maintain an imposing strike rate (144.50) often powering the Scorchers to winning totals.

The 30-year-old continued her incredible record in the WBBL, remaining the only batter to pass 400 runs in every season of the tournament’s history.

She sits comfortably as the all-time leading run getter in the competition, with 4647 at 47.42 from 131 matches.

A breakout season with the ball was enough to earn spinner Amy Edgar a spot in the Team of the Tournament, with the 26-year-old selected for the first time in her career.

Edgar collected 20 wickets at 14.35 throughout the campaign, at a miserly economy of 6.42 runs per over.

Her versatility with ball in hand was highly-valued by skipper Devine, with her accuracy and quickness through the air allowing her to increase the pressure on the opposition during the Powerplay and Power Surge overs.

The final Scorcher to be recognised for their on-field brilliance was young gun Chloe Ainsworth, who was remarkably selected in the representative Team of the Tournament despite only making her WBBL debut at the start of WBBL|09.

A highly-touted junior, Ainsworth earned her Scorchers debut against Hobart Hurricanes last month and made an immediate impact, taking the key wickets of Lizelle Lee and Heather Graham in her opening over at the level.

The 18-year-old showed her maturity beyond her years, often bowling during the Powerplay and the Power Surge, impressing with her pace and ability to swing the ball both ways.

Ainsworth set the tone with the ball on numerous occasions for the Scorchers during her 12 matches, tallying an impressive 15 wickets at 18 including a best of 3-25 against Hobart in Perth.

The quartet will be hoping to carry on their impressive form, when they take on the winner of Brisbane Heat and Sydney Thunder in the Challenger Final at the WACA Ground on Wednesday November 29, starting at 4:40pm WST.

WBBL|09 Team of the Tournament
Beth Mooney – Perth Scorchers – Wicketkeeper
Katie Mack – Adelaide Strikers
Chamari Athapaththu – Sydney Thunder
Sophie Devine – Perth Scorchers – Captain
Ellyse Perry – Sydney Sixers
Annabel Sutherland – Melbourne Stars
Amy Edgar – Perth Scorchers
Amanda-Jade Wellington – Adelaide Strikers
Chloe Ainsworth – Perth Scorchers
Lauren Cheatle – Sydney Sixers
Sophie Day – Melbourne Stars

12th – Charli Knott- Brisbane Heat

Tickets for the Eliminator and Challenger will be available via Ticketmaster.

The Finals will be broadcast live on the Seven Network, Foxtel, Kayo Sports, and ABC Radio.

Match Details 
Perth Scorchers vs Winner of the Eliminator (Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Thunder)
Wednesday November 29, starting at 4:40pm WST
WACA Ground, Perth


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Karachi Kings: Muhammad Irfan Khan wants to follow Shoaib Malik’s footsteps

Photo Credit: Karachi Kings Karachi Kings’ young middle-order batter Muhammad Irfan Khan on Thursday, revealed his plans to serve Pakistan...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter