Sydney Sixers pair named in Weber WBBL|09 Team of the Tournament

Must Read

Photo Credit: Sydney Sixers

Sydney Sixers pair Ellyse Perry and Lauren Cheatle have today been named in the Weber WBBL|09 Team of the Tournament, as voted by the eight head coaches.

Sixers captain, Ellyse Perry has earnt her sixth WBBL Team of the Tournament selection, named in WBBL|01–WBBL|05 and once again this summer in Weber WBBL|09.

With 496 runs to her name this season, Perry finished the regular season with the third-most runs in the competition, along with 13 wickets.

The Sixers leading wicket-taker for WBBL|09, Lauren Cheatle’s impressive 21 wickets caught the attention of the Australian selectors, earning her a place with the national squad ahead of their trip to India next month.

The pair finished their season on a high yesterday afternoon, defeating crosstown rivals, Sydney Thunder by 9-wickets in front of a record-breaking crowd of 7118 at the SCG.

The WBBL Team of the Tournament is selected by the eight head coaches, including Sixers coach, Charlotte Edwards.

Weber WBBL|09 Team of the Tournament:

No. Player Club Votes
1 Beth Mooney (wk) Perth Scorchers 7
2 Katie Mack Adelaide Strikers 7
3 Chamari Athapaththu Sydney Thunder 8
4 Sophie Devine (c) Perth Scorchers 8
5 Ellyse Perry Sydney Sixers 5
6 Annabel Sutherland Melbourne Stars 7
7 Amy Edgar Perth Scorchers 5
8 Amanda-Jade Wellington Adelaide Strikers 4
9 Chloe Ainsworth Perth Scorchers 4
10 Lauren Cheatle Sydney Sixers 8
11 Sophie Day Melbourne Stars 8
12 Charli Knott Brisbane Heat 3


Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s General Manager, Big Bash Leagues, said:

“Congratulations to all 12 players selected in the Weber WBBL|09 Team of the Tournament.

“The side boasts powerful batting and skillful bowling and would be competitive against any opponents worldwide. With so many domestic players being named in the side, the team reflects the depth of Australian cricket and the strength of the WBBL competition.

“Many of the players selected are contenders in the Finals series this week, ensuring we are in for some brilliant cricket and tough competition to conclude the best WBBL season to date.”

Weber WBBL|09 Team of the Tournament selection panel:

Jonathan Batty (Melbourne Stars), Jude Coleman (Hobart Hurricanes), Charlotte Edwards (Sydney Sixers), Becky Grundy (Perth Scorchers), Simon Helmot (Melbourne Renegades), Lisa Keightley (Sydney Thunder), Ashley Noffke (Brisbane Heat), Luke Williams (Adelaide Strikers)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Dolphins Cricket: Maharaj to lead Hollywoodbets Dolphins in T20 Challenge

Photo Credit: Gallo Images The Hollywoodbets Dolphins proudly name number one ranked ICC ODI bowler Keshav Maharaj as captain for...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter