Cricket Australia: Strikers go back-to-back in front of record crowd to cap off Weber WBBL|09

Must Read

Photo Credit: Twitter Cover Photo of @WBBL

The Adelaide Strikers have been crowned Weber WBBL|09 Champions after defeating the Brisbane Heat by three runs in front of 12,379 fans at Adelaide Oval. 

Amanda-Jade Wellington was named Player of the Final after a match winning 3-15 guided the Adelaide Strikers to their second WBBL title.

The WBBL|09 Final set a new attendance record, with 12,379 fans turning up to watch a thrilling end to the season at Adelaide Oval, making it the largest crowd ever at a WBBL game in Adelaide. It beats the previous record of 10,535 attendees at Adelaide Oval in WBBL|01.  

The Final crowd also marks the second highest attendance at a WBBL game since the competition became standalone for WBBL|05.

A record-breaking 95,124 fans attended matches throughout WBBL|09, making this the highest attended season since the competition went standalone in 2019.  

Each of the eight Clubs saw an increase in attendance at home and away season matches, with six Clubs setting a new attendance record this season.  

The Weber Women’s Big Bash League extends its sincere thanks to the members, fans, clubs, players and partners who ensured WBBL|09 was a hugely successful season. 

“On behalf of the League, I’d like to congratulate the Adelaide Strikers on winning the Weber WBBL|09 title. 

“The WBBL has the best fans in the country, and we are grateful to all those who attended and tuned in to watch our ninth season. 

“This season has included many memorable moments such as Grace Harris’ record (and bat) breaking high score and the Adelaide Strikers holding the Melbourne Stars to total of 29. The WBBL represents the best of the women’s game, and we are pleased to have once again offered fans the chance to see some of the world’s best players up close. 

“We were especially proud to introduce the inaugural WBBL Stadium Series, taking the competition to some of the best venues around the country.  

“This season has been our most ambitious to date, and we look forward to building on the growth next year as we celebrate ten years of the WBBL. 

“I would like to thank the clubs including all players and staff, match officials, broadcast partners Seven, Foxtel, Kayo and ABC, commercial partners Weber, KFC, Commonwealth Bank, Toyota, HCL Tech, Woolworths, Nerf, Nike and Mitchell and Ness, venues and curators and our own people who all played a crucial in helping this memorable WBBL season come alive.” 

KFC BBL|13 will get underway on Thursday, 7 December with last year’s finalists, Brisbane Heat hosting Melbourne Stars at the Gabba in the first of seven blockbuster opening week matches. View the full schedule here 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

ECB: The Hundred teams announce retained players on Deadline Day

Photo Credit: ECB Men’s and women’s teams confirm retained players for fourth year of The Hundred 137 players have...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter