Teams confirmed for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Global Qualifier 2024

Must Read

Photo Credit: ICC

  • Uganda and Zimbabwe seal their places in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Global Qualifier 2024 in Dubai

Hosts, Uganda and Zimbabwe have secured the top-two finishes in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier, confirming their spots in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Global Qualifier in Dubai 2024.

Uganda dug deep to outplay a determined Tanzania in their semi-final clash, beating them by 10 runs with four balls to spare, while Zimbabwe clinched the sub-Saharan Africa semi-final derby against Namibia with a convincing, 86-run victory.

Africa’s two finalists join eight other teams for the Global Qualifier which will determine who will take on already-qualified Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 in Bangladesh.

The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Global Qualifiers are as follows:

Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Uganda, UAE, USA, Vanuatu and Zimbabwe.

Uganda will face Zimbabwe in the tournament final today, marking the end of another exciting tournament in Africa.

Fans can follow all the action live at

Semi-finals scores in brief

Zimbabwe vs Namibia

Namibia won the toss and elected to bowl

Zimbabwe: 150 for 6 in 20 overs (M Mupachikwa 33, C.M Tiripano 25, A Ndiraya 24*, M.A Musonda 22; M Mwatile three for 17, J Diergaardt two for 23, K Green one for 23)

Namibia: 64 all out in 16.2 overs (E Van Zyl 23, J Diergaardt 10; P Marange three for 9, J Nkomo two for 4, N Sibanda two for 8, K Ndhlovu one for 9, A Ndiraya one for 1)

Zimbabwe won by 86 runs (with 22 balls remaining) 

Uganda vs Tanzania

Tanzania won the toss and elected to bowl

Uganda: 99 for 4 in 20 overs (S Nampiina 51, R Musamali 35*, I Nakisuyi 4*; P.Z Kamunya two for 10, A.J Qwele one for 4)

Tanzania: 89 all out in 19.2 overs (S.G Mtae 23, M.P Iddi 15, F.O Kibasu 12; R Musamali three for 11, J Mbabazi three for 14, L Anyait one for 18)

Uganda won by 10 runs (with 4 balls remaining)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket Australia: Senior Umpires Call Time

Photo Credit: ICC Bruce Oxenford and Paul Wilson, two of Australia’s most respected and long-serving umpires, have announced their retirements...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter