NZC: Williamson and Jamieson withdrawn from T20 Squad for Bangladesh | Ravindra and Duffy added

Must Read

Photo Credit: New Zealand Cricket

Captain Kane Williamson and bowler Kyle Jamieson have been withdrawn from the BLACKCAPS T20 Squad to face Bangladesh after Christmas.

They will be replaced by Rachin Ravindra and Jacob Duffy, respectively.

The decision to withdraw the pair follows further medical advice and consideration of the team’s upcoming schedule, with a focus on this summer’s Test series against South Africa and Australia.

Williamson will undergo a period of knee rehabilitation and strengthening following his recent return to play in India and Bangladesh.

The advice on Jamieson is that his hamstring injury was best served by a period of targeted rehabilitation leading into February’s Test Series against South Africa.

He will therefore miss the upcoming series against Bangladesh and January’s T20 Series against Pakistan.

BLACKCAPS coach Gary Stead said the withdrawals were grounded in fresh medical advice.

“We want both Kane and Kyle to be in the best possible place leading into the next block of Test cricket against South Africa and Australia.

“Based on discussions with the medical staff and the players it was decided a period of rehabilitation and conditioning was the best option for both of them.”

Stead said Ravindra and Duffy provided strong additions to the squad mix for Bangladesh.

“Jacob is an experienced T20 cricketer and always brings a lot when he is part of the BLACKCAPS environment. He’s worked very hard on his white ball skills in recent seasons.

“Rachin adds to any environment he’s a part of and has a great desire to learn and develop his game – across all three formats.”

Mitchell Santner will be captain for the series in Kane Williamson’s absence. Santner has led the team 14 (13 x T20Is, 1 xODI) times previously in international cricket.

The T20 Squad assemble in Napier on Boxing Day.

Revised BLACKCAPS T20 Squad for Bangladesh

Mitchell Santner (c)
Finn Allen
Mark Chapman
Jacob Duffy
Adam Milne
Daryl Mitchell
James Neesham
Glenn Phillips
Rachin Ravindra
Ben Sears
Tim Seifert
Ish Sodhi
Tim Southee


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

CSA mourns the passing of Umpire, Shaun George

Photo Credit: Lee Warren - Gallo Image/Cricket South Africa It is with deep sadness and heavy hearts that Cricket South...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter