Cricket Ireland Under-19s Men’s squad pre-tournament warm-up programme announced ahead of World Cup

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket Ireland

South Africa – The Ireland Under-19s Men’s squad are set to play three warm-up matches in Potchefstroom ahead of their participation in the 2024 ICC Men’s Under-19 Cricket World Cup in South Africa later this month.

Ireland’s 15-player squad has arrived in South Africa and held their first training session today.



  • 7 January: Ireland U-19 v Zimbabwe U-19; Fanie du Toit Sportsgrounds, North West University (start 9.45am local time)
  • 8 January: Ireland U-19 v Zimbabwe U-19; Fanie du Toit Sportsgrounds, North West University (start 9.45am local time)
  • 11 January: Ireland U-19 v North West Colts; Fanie du Toit Sportsgrounds, North West University (start 9.45am local time)

Official U19 Men’s World Cup warm-ups:

  • Two warm-up matches to be announced shortly by ICC for 14 and 16 January

U19 Men’s World Cup – Ireland’s Group A schedule is as follows:

  • 19 January: Ireland U-19 v USA U-19; Manguang Oval, Bloemfontein.
  • 22 January: Ireland U-19 v Bangladesh U-19; Manguang Oval, Bloemfontein.
  • 25 January: Ireland U-19 v India U-19; Manguang Oval, Bloemfontein.

(see further information and full tournament schedule here)


  • Macdara Cosgrave (Pembroke Cricket Club), Harry Dyer (CSNI Cricket Club), Daniel Forkin (Merrion Cricket Club), Kian Hilton (Cliftonville Academy), Ryan Hunter (CSNI Cricket Club), Philippe le Roux (captain) (Railway Union Cricket Club), Finn Lutton (CSNI Cricket Club), Scott Macbeth (Brigade Cricket Club), Carson McCullough (CIYMS Cricket Club), John McNally (Clontarf Cricket Club), Jordan Neill (Merrion Cricket Club), Oliver Riley (YMCA Cricket Club), Gavin Roulston (Bready Cricket Club), Matthew Weldon (The Hills Cricket Club), Reuben Wilson (YMCA Cricket Club)

Non-Travelling Reserves:

Adam Leckey (CSNI Cricket Club), Hayden Melly (Brigade Cricket Club), James West (CSNI Cricket Club)

Coaching and Support staff:

Peter Johnston (Head Coach), Albert van der Merwe (Manager), Andre Botha (Assistant Coach), Darren Nicol (Physiotherapist), Ollie Kanavan (Analyst), Stuart Thompson (Strength & Conditioning)


Regarding the tournament, the other Groups are:

  • Group B: England, South Africa, West Indies and Scotland
  • Group C: Australia, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and Namibia
  • Group D: Afghanistan, Pakistan, New Zealand and Nepal.

The top three sides from each group progress to the Super Six phase of the event, with each team carrying forward the number of points, Wins, NRR that they earned against their fellow super-six qualifying teams. The Super Six will get underway on 30 January. The top two teams from each group in the Super Six stage will then reach to the semi-finals.

How to watch and/or follow the tournament

  • The pre-camp matches will be livescored and available to follow at
  • The official warmups and tournament matches will be livescored through:
  • It is anticipated that there will be broadcast or livestream of every Irish match in the tournament – we will provide an update as soon as available


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

CSA mourns the passing of Umpire, Shaun George

Photo Credit: Lee Warren - Gallo Image/Cricket South Africa It is with deep sadness and heavy hearts that Cricket South...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter