Cricket NSW trio honoured with OAM’s

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket NSW

Three members of the NSW Cricket community have been awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in the General Division in the Australia Day Honours List.

Peter Moore of Bomaderry was recognised for service to cricket in New South Wales.

Moore has been President of the Fairfield Liverpool Cricket Association since 2011 and awarded life membership of the association in 2013. He is also currently the President of the Hoxton Park Tigers Cricket Club and an accomplished umpire.

William Willis of Tingira Heights received his award for service to the community of Newcastle, including in cricket where he was honoured with life membership of the Newcastle District Cricket Umpires Association in 2004.

Richard Mills gained his OAM for service to the community of the Armidale and Uralla regions. Mills has long been a contributor to cricket in his area and was given life membership to the New England Cricket Association in 1977.

Cricket NSW CEO Lee Germon said Moore, Willis and Mills epitomised what was great about the game.

“On behalf of the NSW cricket community I’d like to congratulate Peter, William and Richard on being awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia,” Germon said.

“They have all been pillars of their respective communities and have contributed greatly to the game of cricket.

“Our volunteers are the heartbeat of our sport and all three of these men have inspired more people to play and love cricket.

“We’d also like to congratulate outgoing Cricket Western Australia CEO Christina Matthews, who was awarded an AM for significant service to cricket as a player and administrator, and to women.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Dolphins Cricket: Maharaj to lead Hollywoodbets Dolphins in T20 Challenge

Photo Credit: Gallo Images The Hollywoodbets Dolphins proudly name number one ranked ICC ODI bowler Keshav Maharaj as captain for...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter