ACB name squad for the Sri Lanka ODIs

Must Read

Photo Credit: Afghanistan Cricket Board

Afghanistan Cricket Board’s National Selection Committee today finalized the Afghanistan National Team’s Squad for the three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka, scheduled to be played from February 9 to 14 at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy.

Rashid Khan continues to recover from the back surgery and has not been drafted into the squad. Qais Ahmad has been added to the lineup to provide the leg-spin service in Rashid Khan’s absence. Meanwhile, Naveed Zadran who recently made his Test debut against Sri Lanka, has been included in the ODI squad to face Sri Lanka. Fast Bowler Mohammad Saleem Safi, who recently featured in away tour to India as well as made his Test debut against Sri Lanka, has been ruled out of the ODI series due to a hamstring strain.

ACB CEO Mr. Naseeb Khan is glad about the consistent involvement of the AfghanAtalan Lineup in bilateral cricket and is looking forward to arranging more games in the future. “We have consistently striven to secure more bilateral cricket matches and create a busy schedule for our national teams. This marks our third visit to Sri Lanka in the past 16 months, which is a promising sign moving forward. The selectors have selected a strong lineup and we eagerly anticipate an exciting series ahead.” He added.

Afghanistan Squad for the three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka:

Hashmatullah Shahidi (C), Rahmat Shah (VC), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Ikram Alikhil (WK), Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Qais Ahmad, Noor Ahmad, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Naveed Zadran and Farid Ahmad Malik.

In addition to the 15-member lineup, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Shahidullah Kamal, Abdul Rahman Rahmani and Bilal Sami are included in the list as reserves.

Etisalat Afghanistan Telecommunication Company and Super Cola Beverages Manufacturing Group of Companies have secured the sponsorship rights of the Afghanistan National Team for the all-format series against Sri Lanka.

Series Schedule:

Date Match Venue
9th February, 2024 1st ODI PICS, Kandy
11th February, 2024 2nd ODI PICS, Kandy
14th February, 2024 3rd ODI PICS, Kandy


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

ECB: The Hundred teams announce retained players on Deadline Day

Photo Credit: ECB Men’s and women’s teams confirm retained players for fourth year of The Hundred 137 players have...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter