Tuesday, April 16, 2024

NZC: Henry, Seifert ruled out of Australia T20Is | Sears and Young called in

Must Read

Photo Credit: New Zealand Cricket

Matt Henry and Tim Seifert have been ruled out of the upcoming KFC T20I series against Australia and will be replaced by Ben Sears and Will Young.

Henry suffered some hip soreness following the 2nd Test against South Africa in Hamilton and will require a short period of rest and strengthening to ensure he is fit for the Tegel Test series against Australia later in the month.

Seifert has been withdrawn from the squad due to a torn abductor suffered while training for Northern Districts earlier in the week.

BLACKCAPS head coach Gary Stead said he was confident both players would make swift recoveries ahead of important upcoming series and events.

“Matt’s understandably disappointed, but a break for the T20s will ensure he’s fully fit and ready to go for the Tests against Australia later this month,” said Stead.

“We’re gutted for Tim who has been a strong performer over recent series and is an important part of the squad.

“We’re hopeful he’ll make a swift recovery ahead of an important period of T20I cricket for the team.”

Stead said Sears and Young were strong replacements.

“Ben showed in his recent performances against Pakistan that he is a talented T20 bowler capable of influencing games of cricket for New Zealand,” he said.

“Will has been a regular in the environment across formats for some time now and his recent performances for the Central Stags in the Super Smash show he his more than capable to contribute at this level.”

The T20I squad assembles in Wellington today and tomorrow, ahead of the first KFC T20I against Australia at Sky Stadium on Wednesday evening, live on TVNZ and SENZ in New Zealand.

Revised BLACKCAPS T20I squad | KFC T20I series v Australia

Mitchell Santner (c)

Finn Allen

Trent Boult (games 2 & 3)

Mark Chapman

Josh Clarkson*

Devon Conway (wk)

Lockie Ferguson

Adam Milne

Glenn Phillips

Rachin Ravindra

Ben Sears

Ish Sodhi

Tim Southee (game 1)

Will Young

*Potential T20I debut

Series Overview

1st KFC T20I – 7:10pm, Wednesday February 21- Sky Stadium, Wellington

2nd KFC T20I – 7:10pm, Friday February 23 – Eden Park, Auckland

3rd KFC T20I – 1pm, Sunday February 25 – Eden Park, Auckland

Australia T20 squad:

Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

CSA mourns the passing of Brandon Foot

Photo Credit: Cricket South Africa It is with deep sadness that Cricket South Africa (CSA) learned of the passing of...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter