Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Cricket NSW announces 2024 Community Cricket Award Winners

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket NSW

Cricket NSW is proud to announce the winners of the 2024 Community Cricket Awards. This year, there are 15 categories, two additional to the 13 from last year.  

The five major categories from the awards list include two club-based awards, Community Club of the Year — won by the Northern Districts Butchers Cricket Club this time — and Women & Girls Initiative, which was won by Hornsby Ku-ring-gai & Hills District Cricket Association for their Friday evening carnival-like girls’ cricket competition that goes just beyond the game, with coloured unforms, pink balls, dancing and a whole lot of fun. 

Among the major individual-based awards, the Volunteer of the Year Award went to Annelise Halls for her work with junior cricket within the small rural community of Boorowa. Boorowa is a town situated within the Hilltops region of NSW with a population of 1800. Halls is a local mother of four and heads up the club’s Cricket Blast program. The club boasts 42 Cricket Blasters and sees a third of all children aged 5-10 in the town enrolled in Cricket Blast. 

Twenty-two-year-old Naveen Sivanathan, the vice-president of Kissing Point Cricket Club, won the Young Leader of the Year Award, for his four years of dedicated service to the club as a volunteer and a committee member, while also being a Blast coordinator and a friend and mentor to the club’s 250 plus junior cricketers. 

The two new categories this year are Woolworths Cricket Blast Coordinator of the Year and Community Facility Project of the Year. The Woolworths Cricket Blast Coordinator of the Year aims to recognise a coordinator who has gone above and beyond to get our youngest players to play and love cricket. This award was won for the first time first was won by Ash Hockin from Albury who is an amazing mentor to the young cricketers at his East Albury Cricket Club. The Maitland City Council took the honours for the inaugural Community Facility Project of the Year award. 

In the city, clubs and Associations in Manly-Warringah and Northern Districts led the charge. The Northern Districts Butchers Cricket Club won Club of the Year, while Manly Warringah Junior Cricket Association (MWJCA) won the Junior Cricket Initiative of the Year.  

All NSW award winners have been nominated for Cricket Australia Community Cricket Awards, to be announced during the third week of May 2024.  

Full list of CNSW Community Cricket Award winners: 

Category  CNSW winner  Town/City/Region 
Celebrating Cricket in Schools  Melanie Reeves 


Murwillumbah, Far North 
Community Cricket Association of the year  Central Coast Cricket Association 


Central Coast 
Community Cricket Club of the Year  Northern Districts Butchers Cricket Club 


Northern Districts, Sydney 
Community Cricket Coach of the Year  Shane McNamara 


Prestons, Sydney 
Community Cricket Partnership of the Year  Manly Warringah District Cricket Club 


Manly Warringah, Sydney 
Community Facility Project of the Year  Maitland City Council 


Maitland, Newcastle 
Community Match Official of the Year  Phillip Turtle  


Cricket Blast Coordinator of the Year  Ash Hockin  


Inclusive & Diversity Initiative of the Year  Schofields Cricket Club 


Schofields, Western Sydney 
Indoor Facility of the Year  Northern District Cricket Club 


Northern Districts, Sydney 
Junior Initiative of the Year  Manly Warringah Junior Cricket Association 


Manly Warringah, Sydney 
Technology & Media Initiative of the Year  Manly District Cricket Club 


Manly, Sydney 
Volunteer of the Year  Annelise Halls 


Boorowa, Southern Inland 
Women & Girls Initiative of the Year  Hornsby Ku-ring-gai & Hills District Cricket Association 


Hornsby & Hills District, Sydney 
Young Leader of the Year  Naveen Sivanathan 


South Turramurra, Sydney 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Adelaide Strikers: Wes Agar traded to Sydney Thunder

Photo Credit: Adelaide Strikers After eight seasons in blue the Adelaide Strikers are farewelling Wes Agar, with the fast bowler...

More Articles Like This