Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Queensland Cricket: Association of the Year | Finalists

Must Read

Photo Credit: Queensland Cricket

This award recognises a cricket Association that actively works to create a sustainable competition that provides opportunities for everyone to have the chance to be involved in cricket.

The first finalist for the Association of the Year award is Mt Isa Cricket.

Mt Isa Cricket has been nominated for the Association of the Year award due to their determined efforts to revive cricket in the community.

Facing declining participation over the past decade, new leadership in the 2023/24 season, particularly from Junior Coordinator Mischa Gummitt, has led to significant progress. Gummitt introduced the city’s first Cricket Blast program, attracting 40 participants, and plans to expand it annually to reinstate junior competitions.

Senior competitions have been formalized on PlayHQ with live scoring, and new formats like a 9-a-side T20 and a 30-over competition have boosted participation. Social cricket days have also been organized to attract new members.

The drive and commitment from the leadership team at Mt Isa Cricket, has created more opportunities for participation growth in the region, affirming their nomination for this award.

The second finalist for the Association of the Year Award is Queensland Nepalese Cricket Association (QNCA).

QNCA prioritizes cultural diversity, community, and individual achievements in cricket. With mental health training for players and outstanding support for its 11 member clubs, QNCA fosters an environment of inclusivity and engagement.

By embracing technology like live scoring and social media innovation, they promote accessibility and growth. Actively embracing opportunities for all cricketers from juniors to senior competitions, QNCA has implemented Woolworths Cricket Blast, skill specific coaching, advanced training methods and exposure to higher competitions to improve player skills.

Through their commitment to diversity and community, QNCA has earned recognition as a finalist.

The winner of the Association of the Year award will be announced on Saturday 13th April!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

CSA: Cricket Boland announce NLC partnership

Cricket Boland is proud to announce that 42 of its clubs have been selected as beneficiaries of the National...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter