Saturday, April 13, 2024

Wilson, Edwards win major Cricket NSW Awards

Must Read

Photo Credit: Sydney Thunder

Rising stars Tahlia Wilson and Jack Edwards are Cricket NSW’s domestic players of the year after being awarded the Belinda Clark and Steve Waugh Medals at the 22nd Annual CNSW Awards night at the SCG.

In a glittering ceremony in front of their playing peers, support staff and other dignitaries, Wilson and Edwards were popular winners of the state’s top domestic cricket gongs – a nod to their brilliant seasons for the NSW Breakers and Blues.

Wilson beat out Erin Burns, Lauren Cheatle, Hannah Darlington and Phoebe Litchfield for the Belinda Clark Medal, while Edwards won the Steve Waugh Medal from fellow young gun Oliver Davies and former winners Daniel Hughes and Chris Tremain.

Wilson, 24, also took out the WNCL player of the tournament award for the second season in a row after topping the state’s list of run scorers, including a stunning performance in NSW’s final win of the season against South Australia. In a wonderful day out, Wilson belted 100 from 116 balls before having a hand in six dismissals – five catches and a stumping, thus becoming the first woman in over 11,000 women’s List A matches to score a century and take six wicketkeeping dismissals in a single match.

For Edwards, the 2023/24 summer was a ‘coming of age’ season with the hulking all-rounder making his mark in all three formats and all three facets of the game. In a Marsh One-Day Cup campaign where the Blues finished as runner’s up, Edwards was the tournament’s second leading wicket taker. During the Sheffield Shield he also contributed with bat, ball and in the field, a constant rock for skipper Moises Henriques.

Before the major honours, winners were announced for the Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder WBBL and BBL Players of the Tournament.

Sri Lankan superstar Chamari Athapaththu surprised no one by winning the Alex Blackwell Medal for Thunder’s WBBL player of the season, while Tanveer Sangha earned the Mike Hussey Medal as Thunder’s BBL player of the year.

Sixers WBBL skipper Ellyse Perry won the Sixers top WBBL prize, with Ben Dwarshuis the corresponding BBL winner.

The Michael Bevan One-Day Cup Player of the Tournament was won by Daniel Hughes for the second year on the trot, Tahlia Wilson was the WNCL Player of the Tournament and Chris Tremain the Sheffield Shield Player of the Tournament.

The evening also featured recognition for Jackson Bird, Jack Nisbet, Sam Konstas, Blake McDonald, Georgia Adams and Kate Pelle for making their Blues and Breakers debuts.

There was also a celebration marking the retirement of Stephen O’Keefe and the three 100-match achievements for Moises Henriques.

22nd Cricket NSW Annual Awards – Winners and Finalists

Alex Blackwell Medal for Sydney Thunder WBBL Player of the Tournament
Winner: Chamari Athapaththu
Finalists: Chamari Athapaththu, Samantha Bates, Marizanne Kapp, Phoebe Litchfield

Mike Hussey Medal for Sydney Thunder BBL Player of the Tournament
Winner: Tanveer Sangha
Finalists: Alex Hales, Chris Green, Tanveer Sangha, Daniel Sams

Sydney Sixers WBBL Player of the Tournament
Winner: Ellyse Perry
Finalists: Lauren Cheatle, Ashleigh Gardner, Ellyse Perry, Chloe Tryon

Sydney Sixers BBL Player of the Tournament
Winner: Ben Dwarshuis
Finalists: Ben Dwarshuis, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, James Vince

Michael Bevan One-Day Cup Player of the Tournament
Winner: Daniel Hughes
Finalists: Jack Edwards, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, William Salzmann

WNCL Player of the Tournament
Winner: Tahlia Wilson
Finalists: Georgia Adams, Erin Burns, Sarah Coyte, Saskia Horley, Tahlia Wilson

Sheffield Shield Player of the Tournament
Winner: Chris Tremain
Finalists: Oliver Davies, Jack Edwards, Chris Green, Chris Tremain

Belinda Clark Medal
Winner: Tahlia Wilson
Finalists: Erin Burns, Lauren Cheatle, Hannah Darlington, Phoebe Litchfield, Tahlia Wilson

Steve Waugh Medal
Winner: Jack Edwards
Finalists: Oliver Davies, Jack Edwards, Daniel Hughes, Chris Tremain


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

PCA: Women’s players seek assurances over equitable future

Photo Credit: Professional Cricketers' Association PCA conduct pre-season meetings with all eight women’s regions  Research gathered across equity priorities...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter