Friday, June 14, 2024

Cricket Australia celebrates Volunteers across the Country

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket Australia

Cricket Australia has announced its National Community Cricket Award winners this week which celebrate the amazing contribution and tireless work of the volunteers at the heart of grassroots cricket. 

Coinciding with National Volunteer Week, the annual awards include 15 categories, recognising individuals, clubs, and associations that have exhibited excellence in their roles and made a positive impact in the communities they serve.

The National Community Cricket Award winners and nominations included many outstanding initiatives in vital areas such as volunteering, club administration, officiating, participation, diversity and inclusion, and program development. 

Cricket Australia congratulations all winners and nominees for their significant contribution to Australian Cricket and the people of their local communities.  

Executive General Manager, Community Cricket and Capability, James Allsopp said:  

“The National Community Cricket Awards provide the opportunity to celebrate and showcase the hard work of individuals and clubs from across the country. 
“The awards form an important part of celebrating cricket’s volunteers, and we hope they will inspire others to get involved with their local club.

“I’d like to thank and congratulate all the winners and nominees for their contributions to cricket.” 

National Community Award Winners  

Celebrating Cricket in Schools – Southern Cross Catholic College, Townsville, QLD  

Community Cricket Association of the Year– Indian Australian Multicultural Sports Association, ACT  

Toyota Community Cricket Club of the Year – Northern Districts (Butchers) Cricket Club, NSW  

Community Cricket Coach of the Year – David Turnbull, Jandakot Lakes Junior Cricket Club, WA  

Community Cricket Partnership of the Year – Harrup Park and Mackay Cricket Association, QLD  

Community Facility Project of the Year – Maroondah City Council – Maroondah Edge Centre (Jubilee Park) 

Community Match Official of the Year – Phillip Turtle, Hawkesbury District Cricket Umpires Association, NSW 

Cricket Blast Coordinator of the Year – Ash Hockin, East Albury Cricket Club, NSW  

Inclusion & Diversity Initiative of the Year – Sanjay Sharma, Indian Australian Multicultural Sports Association, ACT  

Indoor Facility of the Year – Mark Taylor Oval Indoor Cricket Centre, NSW 

Junior Initiative of the Year – Payneham Cricket Club, SA 

Technology & Media Initiative of the Year – Coromandel Valley Ramblers Cricket Club, SA  

NRMA Insurance Volunteer of the Year – Kirsten Piccinini, Wembley Districts Junior Cricket Club & Central Junior Cricket Association, WA  

HCLTech Women and Girls Initiative of the Year – White Knights Baldivis Cricket Club, WA  

HCLTech Young Leader of the Year – Josh Niederer, Reynella Cricket Club, SA


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket Australia: Cricket’s Golden Ticket launched as international cricket tickets go on sale

Photo Credit: Cricket Australia Fans have the chance to win cricket’s Golden Ticket and several merchandise packages as tickets...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter