Friday, June 14, 2024

Cricket Australia: Australia A v India A Showdowns Part of the Blockbuster Indian Summer

Must Read

Photo Credit: South Australian Cricket Association

Two four-day matches between Australia A and India A and a three-day internal match comprising players from the Indian Test squad and India A will precede the NRMA Insurance Border-Gavaskar Trophy series as the top-ranked Test nations prepare for their hugely anticipated showdown.

The lead-up games mean Australia will host the biggest Indian summer ever with the hugely supported Indian men’s and women’s teams playing in Australia over 69 days from first ball to last and in eight different venues Australia-wide. 

The Australia A v India A matches will be played at Great Barrier Reef Arena in Mackay (31 Oct-3 Nov) and the MCG (7-10 Nov) respectively, with the Indian internal match to take place at the WACA Ground (15 Nov-17 Nov) with players pushing their case for selection ahead of the West Test. 

The Australian women’s team will take on India in three ODI’s in December as the rivalry between the world champion Australians and the rapidly improving India intensifies. 

Tickets for the NRMA Insurance Border-Gavaskar Trophy series and CommBank Women’s ODI against India, as well as the Dettol ODI and T20I series between Australia and Pakistan men and the CommBank Women’s Ashes go on sale June 14. 

Peter Roach, CA Head of Cricket Operations and Scheduling said: 

“The 2024-25 summer is highlighted by the five-Test Border-Gavaskar Trophy series, the first five-Test series between the two giants in more than 30 years. To have that running simultaneously with the women’s ODIs and preceded by two significant Australia A v India A matches will be terrific for our fans. 

“Hosting those A matches at the upgraded Great Barrier Reef Arena and the MCG give these A matches significant status and will provide great opportunities to players from both sides to put up their hand for selection.” 

India Tours of Australia 2024

Men’s Australia A v India A Series
31 October-3 November 2024: Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay
7 November-10 November 2024: MCG, Melbourne

India Men’s Internal Game
15 November-17 November: WACA Ground, Perth

NRMA Insurance Border-Gavaskar Trophy Series
22-26 November 2024: Perth Stadium, Perth 
6-10 December 2024: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (D/N)
14-18 December 2024: The Gabba, Brisbane
26-30 December 2024: MCG, Melbourne 
3-7 January 2025: SCG, Sydney

CommBank Women’s ODI Series – Australia v India
5 December 2024: Allan Border Field, Brisbane (D/N)
8 December 2024: Allan Border Field, Brisbane (D)
11 December 2024: WACA Ground, Perth (D/N) 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket Australia: Cricket’s Golden Ticket launched as international cricket tickets go on sale

Photo Credit: Cricket Australia Fans have the chance to win cricket’s Golden Ticket and several merchandise packages as tickets...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter