Monday, June 24, 2024

Sydney Thunder: Talented teens set to feature in underage showcase

Must Read

Sangha, Marshall named in Gilchrist XII squad to face Ponting XII at Metricon Stadium

Sangha, Marshall named in Gilchrist XII squad to face Ponting XII at Metricon Stadium

Sydney Thunder young gun Tanveer Sangha and Development Rookie Liam Marshall are set to feature in the annual Gilchrist XII and Ponting XII match on Friday 27 December.


The match will be played at Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast, prior to the KFC Big Bash League fixture between the Melbourne Stars and Adelaide Strikers.

Cricket Australia’s Youth Selection Panel (YSP), in conjunction with State Talent Managers, have named two strong squads for the annual match which showcases some of Australia’s best underage cricketers.


Sangha is one of thirteen players from Australia’s 2020 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup squad who will take part in the fixture, which forms a key component of their preparation for the upcoming tournament in South Africa from January 17.

The match will be live streamed on, the Cricket Australia Facebook page and Cricket Australia YouTube channel from 12:00pm AEDT. Live scoring will also be available via match centre on

Cricket Australia National Talent & Pathway Manager, Graham Manou, said:

“The Gilchrist XII v Ponting XII match provides some of Australia’s most promising cricketers with another chance to showcase their skills in front of a national audience.

“It is also a key element of our preparation for the 2020 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup, which is now less than one month away.

“The match’s status as a KFC BBL|09 curtain-raiser adds an extra layer of excitement and we look forward to the players embracing the opportunity.”

The following 12-player squads have been selected for the Gilchrist XII and Ponting XII.

Gilchrist XII vs Ponting XII

Friday 27 December 2019, 12:00pm AEDT

Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast

Gilchrist XII 

Will Bowering (South Australia)

Max Clayton (Queensland)

Cooper Connolly (Western Australia)

Mackenzie Harvey (Victoria Metro)

Lachlan Hearne (NSW Metro)

Liam Marshall (NSW Metro)

Cameron McClure (Victoria Country)

Patrick Rowe (Victoria Country)

Will Sanders (Queensland)

Tanveer Sangha (NSW Metro)

Liam Scott (South Australia)

Matthew Willans (Queensland)

Ponting XII 

Hugo Burdon (Queensland)

Sam Fanning (Western Australia)

Jayden Goodwin (Western Australia)

Corey Kelly (South Australia)

Tom Kelly (South Australia)

Todd Murphy (Victoria Country)

Mitchell Owen (Tasmania)

Wil Parker (Victoria Metro)

Will Prestwidge (Queensland)

Bradley Simpson (NSW Metro)

Zac Sleeman (Victoria Metro)

Connor Sully (Queensland)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket Canada announces partnership with Newbery Cricket

Photo Credit: Cricket Canada Cricket Canada is delighted to announce a new partnership with Newbery Cricket,  one of the most...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter