Monday, June 17, 2024

Cricket South Africa announce ICC Women’s T20 World Cup squad

Must Read

Cricket South Africa today announced an experienced 15-player squad to represent the country at next month’s ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 in Australia.

At a splendid send-off event held at the Imperial Wanderers Cricket Stadium, head coach Hilton Moreeng named 11 players from the 2018 T20 World Cup squad, alongside 4 T20 World Cup debutants.

The Proteas Women open their pool campaign against England Women in Perth, then followed by Thailand Women, Pakistan Women and West Indies Women in the tournament which begins on 21 February and runs until 8 March, International Women’s Day.

“It’s a group that has the talent, youth, experience and desire to help us win the T20 World Cup,” Moreeng said.

“We have assembled a team that we feel can hold their own against anyone in the world and it will be important that we carry that belief into the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup. The players we have at our disposal are some of the best and most promising players in women’s cricket globally and we will make sure that we give them the best tools to succeed on this big stage.”

“Good luck to Dane and her team who I am sure will do everything possible to make the country proud and re-ignite the spirit that almost took them to the ICC Women’s World Cup Final in 2017,” commented CSA Acting Director of Cricket, Graeme Smith.

“Many of our senior players are household names in T20 tournaments in Australia and England and they will set the tone for the rest of the team.”

Proteas Women T20 Squad:

1 Dane Van Niekerk © Eastern Province, 2 Laura Wolvaardt Western Province, 3 Lizelle Lee North West, 4 Mignon Du Preez Northerns, 5 Marizanne Kapp Eastern Province, 6 Sune Luus Northerns, 7 Chloe Tryon (v/c) KZN Coastal, 8 Shabnim Ismail KZN Coastal, 9 Ayabonga Khaka Gauteng, 10 Masabata Klaas North West, 11 Tumi Sekhukhune North West, 12 Trisha Chetty KZN Coastal, 13 Nonkululeko Mlaba KZN Coastal, 14 Nadine De Klerk Western Province, 15 Nondumiso Shangase KZN Coastal

Proteas Women ICC Women T20 Pool Fixtures

23 Feb 2020 13:00 – England Women South Africa Women W.A.C.A. Ground, Perth

28 Feb 2020 05:00 – South Africa Women Thailand Women Manuka Oval, Canberra

01 Mar 2020 05:00 – South Africa Women Pakistan Women Sydney Showground Stadium

03 Mar 2020 10:00 – West Indies Women South Africa Women Sydney Showground Stadium


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

UK Cricket World Shares Eid ul Adha Greetings

Photo Credit: Twitter Photo of @ECB_cricket The cricket community in England and Scotland shared Eid greetings starting Sunday to mark...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter