Sunday, April 21, 2024

Perth Scorchers: Richardson, Sciver claim top gongs

Must Read

Photo Credit: Perth Scorchers

WA speedster Jhye Richardson and England superstar Nat Sciver have been named the Perth Scorchers top performers for 2019-20, after taking home the Simon Katich Medal and the WBBL Player of the Year respectively as part of the club’s Laurie Sawle Medal awards.Richardson was damaging with the ball during the summer’s KFC Big Bash League season, finishing as the Scorchers leading wicket-taker alongside teammates Chris Jordan and Fawad Ahmed, with 15 wickets.

The young paceman proved his worth with his best return of 4-19 against the Hobart Hurricanes in Game 9 at Blundstone Arena, which helped the side to a dominating 77-run victory. He also impressed with some big hitting at the tail end of a number of Scorchers innings and racked up a tidy 75 runs for the season.

“I’m really honoured and excited to be awarded the Simon Katich Medal for this year. It probably wasn’t the year that we would’ve liked, but we are going to come back hungrier and stronger next year,” Richardson said.

“My favourite memory from last season would be walking out on to Optus Stadium for the first time, hearing the cheer of the home crowd and all the love and support.

“I can’t wait to hear it all again next season, I absolutely love it, it puts a smile on my face and it encourages us to do the best we can and makes us hungrier to win.”

Some brilliant bowling performances and fluid batting by star allrounder Nat Sciver earned her the top honours for the Scorchers Rebel Women’s Big Bash League campaign.

The impressive import made a total of 342 runs at an average of 38.00, including an unbeaten 55 runs against the Melbourne Renegades at Junction Oval.

Sciver also starred with the ball, leading the Scorchers with an economy rate of 6.75 and end the season with six scalps from 34 overs.
“It means so much to receive this award,” Sciver said.

“I couldn’t have done it without the whole Scorchers team, the staff and the players, so it’s all for you guys as well.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

ECB: Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy 2024 – team-by-team guide

Photo Credit: ECB The Blaze Previewed by Jon Culley - ECB Reporters Network Captain: Kirstie Gordon Head Coach: Chris Guest 2023 finish: Runners-up 2023 highest...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter