Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Cricket Canada Set To Host ICC World Cups Qualification Tournaments In July, August 2021

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket Canada

International cricket is coming to Canada in 20201.  The International Cricket Council (ICC) recently announced revisions to the Qualification processes for its T20 and 50 Over World Cups in 2022 and 2023 respectively, has resulted in two very exciting 2021 Tournament hosting assignments for Canada.

The qualification pathway for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia which is set to take place in October and November 2022, will serve to determine the fifteen countries that will join the hosts as Tournament participants. As part of the process 11 regional qualification tournaments across five regions have been rescheduled to 2021, due to COVID-19 and will now feed into the 2022 Australia event.

Canada has been identified as hosts for the Americas Regional Qualifier. Argentina, Bahamas, Belize, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Panama, USA will join their Canadian hosts to compete for two available spots on the pathway to Australia 2022. The Canadian hosted ICC 2022 T20 World Cup Americas Region Qualifier will be held from July 17-23, 2021.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has also announced the 20 rescheduled series in the pathway to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India. All COVID-19 affected pathway to the India hosted 2023 ICC (50 Over) World Cup series which were postponed in 2020 have also been rescheduled in a new look calendar extending to 2023.

As part of the calendar the Men’s CWC Challenge League A, which had originally been scheduled to be hosted in Malaysia this year, will return between 15 and 28 August 2021 with Canada as the new hosts. Denmark, Malaysia, Qatar, Singapore and Vanuatu will be the other competing teams for the second of the three Challenge League A events as part of the ICC 2023 World Cup Qualification process. Canada lead currently leads Singapore on net-run-rate with both teams on eight points in the standings.

The top team from the CWC Challenge League A will progress to the next stage of the ICC 2023 World Cup Qualification process. Canada’s last appearance at an ICC World Cup was in 2011.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Adelaide Strikers: Wes Agar traded to Sydney Thunder

Photo Credit: Adelaide Strikers After eight seasons in blue the Adelaide Strikers are farewelling Wes Agar, with the fast bowler...

More Articles Like This