Thursday, April 18, 2024

Cricket Ireland: How to watch the Ireland v Afghanistan Series

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket Ireland

The three-match one-day international series between Ireland and Afghanistan in Abu Dhabi will be available to view in Europe via Free Sports TV or on various satellite stations around the world.

We have been informed:

  • Ireland / UK / Rest of Europe: available via the Free Sports TV channel or through the Free Sports Player – download app here
  • India: available via FanCode
  • Afghanistan: available via RTA

For all other countries, we’ll advise if any updates are announced by the Afghanistan Cricket Board.


Cricket Ireland and the Emirates Cricket Board are in discussions about rescheduling suspended fixtures. Details will be confirmed as soon as possible.

The international fixtures scheduled to follow the UAE series against Afghanistan at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi, are:

  • Afghanistan v Ireland – 1st ODI – 21 Jan 2021 (start: 10am local time / 6.00am Irish time)
  • Afghanistan v Ireland – 2nd ODI – 24 Jan 2021 (start: 10am local time / 6.00am Irish time)
  • Afghanistan v Ireland – 3rd ODI – 26 Jan 2021 (start: 10am local time / 6.00am Irish time)

The matches against Afghanistan will be part of the World Cup Super League (see below for details).


The Ireland Men’s squad is:

Andrew Balbirnie (C), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, Shane Getkate, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, James McCollum, Kevin O’Brien, Neil Rock, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.


Matches played as part of the inaugural ICC Cricket World Cup Super League (2020-2023) are essentially World Cup Qualifier matches, as the League will serve as part of the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualification process.

  • See the current WCSL table as it stands

The WCSL features thirteen teams, the twelve Full members of the International Cricket Council (ICC), and the Netherlands (who won the 2015–17 ICC World Cricket League Championship to qualify for this competition). Each team will play an ODI series against eight of the twelve opponents, four series at home and four away. Each series will consist of three ODIs. For the World Cup, the hosts (India in 2023), and the top seven-ranked sides thereafter, will qualify automatically. The remaining five teams will play in a qualifying event along with five Associate sides, from which two sides will go through to the final tournament.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket Scotland: ICC CWCL2 series postponed until July

Photo Credit: Cricket Scotland Cricket Scotland can today confirm the postponement of the Men’s ICC CWCL2 fixtures between Scotland, Namibia,...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter