Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Cricket Ireland: Ireland Men to play three T20Is against UAE in Dubai ahead of the T20 World Cup

Must Read

Photo Credit: Sportsfile

Cricket Ireland today confirmed they will play a warm-up match against Scotland and a three-match T20 International series against UAE at the ICC Academy in Dubai as part of a preparation camp ahead of the ICC T20 World Cup in October.

The fixtures were officially announced by the Emirates Cricket Board this morning as part of the ‘DafaNews Summer T20 Blast’ – a series of fixtures between 5-10 October involving UAE, Ireland, Scotland, Namibia and Papua New Guinea. Emirates Cricket Board will confirm broadcast details of the series shortly.

The Ireland squad will leave for the UAE tomorrow, and will undertake a mandatory six-day hotel quarantine before being able to begin training.


Pre-T20 World Cup – preparation period

  • 5 October 2021: Ireland v Scotland – warm-up match (ICC Academy Oval 2; start 9am local time)
  • 7 October 2021: Ireland v UAE – 1st T20I (ICC Academy Oval 1; start 9am local time)
  • 8 October 2021: Ireland v UAE – 2nd T20I (ICC Academy Oval 1; start 9am local time)
  • 10 October 2021: Ireland v UAE – 3rd T20I (ICC Academy Oval 1; start 9am local time)

Official T20 World Cup warm-up matches

  • 12 October 2021: Ireland v Papua New Guinea – warm-up T20I (Abu Dhabi; start 2pm local time)
  • 14 October 2021: Ireland v Bangladesh – warm-up T20I (Abu Dhabi; start 6pm local time)

T20 World Cup – Round 1

  • 18 October 2021: Ireland v Netherlands (Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi; starts 10am GMT)
  • 20 October 2021: Ireland v Sri Lanka (Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi; starts 2pm GMT)
  • 22 October 2021: Ireland v Namibia (Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah; starts 10am GMT)

The top two teams from Round 1 go into the Group Stage. Details about the tournament, Group Stage fixtures and venues can be found here:


A preliminary 18-player squad was recently announced – this will be reduced to 15 for the T20 World Cup tournament, however, the three other players will still travel to the UAE as reserves.

Andrew Balbirnie (c), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Shane Getkate, Graham Kennedy, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Kevin O’Brien, Neil Rock, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket Australia: Australia A v India A Showdowns Part of the Blockbuster Indian Summer

Photo Credit: South Australian Cricket Association Two four-day matches between Australia A and India A and a three-day internal match...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter