Saturday, June 22, 2024

Queensland Cricket: Fire Name Teen Tyros

Must Read

Photo Credit: Queensland Cricket

The Queensland Fire have included two teen tyros in their squad as they commence their quest to go back-to-back in the Women’s National Cricket League in Hobart this week.

Bundaberg 15-year-old pace bowler Lucy Hamilton and 18-year-old Dalby product Ruth Johnston have both been named in the Queensland squad for the first time.

The Fire, which won the Ruth Preddy Cup trophy for the first time last season, will travel to Tasmania tomorrow to prepare for one-day games on Friday and Sunday.

Queensland is without Australia star Beth Mooney, who is having a break from playing as she prepares for the Women’s Ashes series next month, while batter Laura Kimmince is recovering from a minor knee operation post WBBL and will miss the Tasmanian games.

Johnston is set to join her cousin Ellie as a Queensland Fire player, with the Ipswich Hornets batter making a strong case for inclusion with her recent Premier Cricket form and a breakout performance during the WBBL for the Hobart Hurricanes in her inaugural tournament.

She took nine wickets with her off-spin and scored 182 runs as a top order batter for Hobart.

Hamilton, a left-arm quick who plays for the Sunshine Coast in the Katherine Raymont Shield competition, would be one of the youngest players in recent years to debut for Queensland should she be selected in either game.

Another left-arm paceman, Murgon’s Renee Irvine, was 16 when she made her debut for Queensland in 2017 while current Fire and Brisbane Heat allrounder Charli Knott was also 15 when she made her Fire debut in 2018.

Both fixtures will be streamed live and Kayo Sports.

Queensland will continue their WNCL campaign early next month.

The Fire will play home games at the National Cricket Campus at Shaw Road Kalinga, with matches confirmed for Ian Healy Oval and the adjacent Alan Pettigrew Oval during January and February.

Remaining Queensland Fire games:

Jan 7: Queensland v South Australia, Ian Healy Oval

Jan 9: Queensland v South Australia, Ian Healy Oval

Feb 16: Queensland v Victoria, Lilac Hill (WA)

Feb 18: Western Australia v Queensland, Lilac Hill (WA)

Feb 24: Queensland v Australian Capital Territory, Alan Pettigrew Oval (Brisbane)

Feb 27: New South Wales v Queensland, North Sydney Oval

Mar 6: TBC v TBC, TBC

*Matches and travel remain subject to any relevant government restrictions or requirements. Cricket Australia reserves the right to adjust the 2021-22 Women’s National Cricket League schedule.

Queensland Fire v Tasmania Tigers Women

Friday 17 December, Sunday 19 December

Blundstone Arena.

Jess Jonassen (c)

Georgia Redmayne (vc)

Georgia Voll

Grace Harris

Mikayla Hinkley

Charli Knott

Ellie Johnston

Ruth Johnston

Courtney Sippel

Georgia Prestwidge

Megan Dixon

Lilly Mills

Lucy Hamilton


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

CSA and BCCI announce upcoming series

Photo Credit: BCCI Cricket South Africa (CSA) and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) are delighted to...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter