ICC Player of the Month nominations for February announced

Must Read

Photo Credit: ICC

The nominees for ICC Players of the Month of February for men’s and women’s international cricket have been announced today.

The nominees for ICC Players of the Month of February for men’s and women’s international cricket have been announced today. February saw some strong men and women candidates staking their claim with some brilliant performances. The ICC Player of the Month nominations in the men’s category features UAE batter, Vriitya Aravind, India batter Shreyas Iyer and Nepal’s Dipendra Sing Airee. In the women’s category, New Zealand all-rounder Amelia Kerr, India veteran star Mithali Raj and all-rounder Deepti Sharma are nominated. 

An independent ICC Voting Academy* and fans around the world can now vote to decide the winners, which will be announced next week. Fans registered on icc-cricket.com/awards are invited to cast their votes for their favourite ICC Players of the Month for February. 

ICC Men’s Player of the Month for February:  

Vriitya Aravind – UAE

Vriitya Aravind was the young star in UAE’s campaign at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier A held in Oman last month. The youngest member of the squad, nineteen-year-old Aravind played a crucial role in UAE’s qualification to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 which will take place later this year. In the five matches he played, he smashed 267 runs at an average of 89.00 and a strike rate of 154.33. He set the tone with a 67-ball 97* in the opening game against Oman and carried his form through the tournament with scores of 40, 84*, 46 in the next three games. Though he didn’t finish with a flourish, he did enough to win the Player of the Tournament.

Shreyas Iyer – India

Shreyas Iyer was in unstoppable form in the month of February and played a vital role in India’s white-ball domination. He started the month with a Player of the Match-winning 80 against West Indies in the final ODI and a 16-ball 25 in the last T20I. With India opting to rest players and injury to Suryakumar Yadav, Iyer was promoted to No.3 in the T20I series against Sri Lanka. He scored three unbeaten fifties in three games and finished with 204 runs at a blistering strike rate of 174.35 and was awarded the Player of the Series for his exploits. 

Dipendra Singh Airee – Nepal

Dipendra Singh Airee was a vital cog in Nepal’s third-place finish in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier A in Oman. He was splendid both with the bat and the ball, finishing with 159 runs and six wickets in the tournament. Prior to the start of the tournament, he was brilliant in the quadrangular series against Oman, UAE, and Ireland where he accumulated 142 runs in three games and grabbed a four-for in the final game against Ireland.

ICC Women’s Player of the Month for February:

Amelia Kerr – New Zealand

Amelia Kerr has been in the form of her life lately and has sensational with the bat and ball.

In the ODI series against India ahead of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup, she finished as the highest-run getter overall and the joint-highest wicket-taker for her team alongside her sister Jess Kerr. In the five ODIs, she scored 353 runs at an average of 117.66 and strike rate of 97.51, which included three fifties and a hundred.  With the ball, she picked up 7 wickets at an economy of 5.78. She was also the Player of the Match in two of the five ODIs and took home the Player of the Series award as well.

Mithali Raj – India

Mithali Raj was one of the few shining lights for India in the ODI series against New Zealand. She was the highest run-scorer for India and the second-highest overall with 232 runs, including three fifties, averaging 77.33 with a strike rate of 82.56. In the final ODI, she played the role of the finisher to perfection, remaining unbeaten on 54 as India chased down 252 with four overs to spare. With the win, India ensured that they finished the series with a win in their kitty.

Deepti Sharma – India

Deepti Sharma was brilliant with both with the bat and ball in the series against New Zealand. She took the most wickets (10) in the ODI series and was handy with the bat as well, aggregating 116 runs in five matches. She grabbed a four-for in the second ODI and followed it up with a 69* in the next match.

The ICC Player of the Month Voting Process: 

The three nominees for either category is shortlisted based on performances from the first to the last day of each calendar month. The shortlist is then voted on by the independent ICC Voting Academy* and fans around the world. The ICC Voting Academy comprises prominent members of the cricket fraternity including well-known journalists, former players, broadcasters, and members of the ICC Hall of Fame. The Voting Academy submit their votes by email and hold a 90 per cent share of the vote. Fans registered with the ICC vote via the ICC website, accounting for the remaining 10 per cent. Winners are announced every second Monday of the month on the ICC’s digital channels. 

ICC Voting Academy for ICC Player of the Month February 2022*:

Afghanistan: Hameed Qayoomi and Javed Hamim; Australia: Melinda Farrell and Lisa Sthalekar; Bangladesh: Tarek Mahmoud and Mohammad Isam’ England: Elizabeth Ammon and Claire Taylor; Ireland: Ian Callender and Isobel Joyce; India: Rica Roy and Irfan Pathan New Zealand: Mark Geenty and John Wright; Pakistan: Faizan Lakhani and Ramiz Raja; South Africa: Firdose Moonda and Makhaya Ntini; Sri Lanka: Neville Victor Anthony and Russel Arnold; West Indies: Desmond Haynes and Merissa Aguilleira; Zimbabwe: Tristan Holme and Mpumelelo Mbangwa; Others: Paul Radley and Dirk Nannes


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Dolphins Cricket: Maharaj to lead Hollywoodbets Dolphins in T20 Challenge

Photo Credit: Gallo Images The Hollywoodbets Dolphins proudly name number one ranked ICC ODI bowler Keshav Maharaj as captain for...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter