SACA: Webb and Bosisto crowned Premier Cricket’s best

Must Read

Photo Credit: South Australian Cricket Association

Two first-time winners have tonight been awarded SACA Premier Cricket’s highest honours, with Courtney Webb and William Bosisto named the 2021-22 Karen Rolton and Bradman medallists.

Despite taking the field just four times for Glenelg in 50-over cricket this summer, Webb delivered a masterclass on each occasion to score 325 runs at the remarkable average of 108 and claim the medal with 20 votes, seven ahead of second placed Sanigdha Bansal.

For Bosisto, the prestigious award is fantastic recognition for persistence and consistency, having finished third in the voting last summer. This year, Bosisto’s 854 first-grade runs at an average of 106.75 was enough to see the Adelaide University batter finish atop the an exciting vote count at Adelaide Oval.

Highlighted by three centuries and six half-centuries, Bosisto was immovable all season long, with no better example than a dominant 166* from 179 in partnership with Kyle Brazell against Southern District earlier this month. The right-hander’s prolific accumulation of runs is a continuation of the form that earned a top three finish in the 2020-21 voting, a season that Bosisto also hit a trio of centuries.

Able to contribute in all facets of the game, Bosisto also took 21 first-grade wickets from 152 overs bowled, punctuated by best figures of 4/15. In the One-Day Cup, Bosisto finished inside the top ten for runs scored, with 233 at an average of 46.60, including three half centuries and also took eight wickets from 46 overs bowled.

Sturt’s Thomas Kelly finished in second with 29 votes, five behind Bosisto. In a breakout season for Kelly, the 21-year-old crunched 802 runs at the eye-watering average of 160.40, raising the bat for three centuries and three half-centuries.

In a season featuring several huge scores, Kelly topped the pile with his unbeaten 211 against Northern Districts, a truly stunning display.

Webb’s crowning moment came in the form of a powerhouse knock of 159* from 129 balls faced, an innings featuring 15 boundaries. Webb also showed her versatility in the big win against West Torrens by sending down four overs with the ball as well.

Finishing second, Kensington’s Bansal took 12 wickets from 60 overs bowled, ending the season with an average of 17.5 and best figures of 4/8.

Other winners on the night include Kensington’s Eliza Doddridge, who took home the Shelley Nitschke Medal fir Twenty20 Cup Player of the Series, and Lewis Evans, who claimed the Fred Godson Medal for West End One Day Cup Player of the Series.

For his tireless work at Glenelg, David Boschma has been named the Premier Cricket Volunteer of the year after being nominated by his Club for the huge amount of work he does behind the scenes. Riding his bike between grounds, David set up equipment for the coaches on both Saturday and Sundays, as well as helping with the covers, scoreboard, sight screens and more on game day.

In addition to this, David manages the maintenance team, takes minutes at Board meetings and attends training every Thursday night to ensure everything is ready for the weekend. Congratulations to David, and thank you to all the volunteers who form the backbone of South Australian Premier Cricket.

Karen Rolton Medal
Winner: Courtney Webb, Glenelg (20 votes),
2nd: Sanigdha Bansal, Kensington (13 votes)
3rd: Jemma Barsby, Northern Districts (12 votes)

Bradman Medal
Winner: William Bosisto, Adelaide University (34 votes),
2nd: Thomas Kelly, Sturt (29 votes)
3rd: Antum Naqvi, Northern Districts (25 votes)2021-22 Premier Cricket Women’s Team of the Year – voted on by captains and coaches of each club: Josephine Dooley (wk) (Sturt), Emma de Broughe (Sturt), Courtney Webb (Glenelg), Paris Hall (West Torrens), Eliza Doddridge (Kensington), Kate Peterson (Glenelg), Kelly Armstrong (West Torrens), Sarah Lowe (c) (Kensington), Anesu Mushangwe (Glenelg), Lucy Bowering (Glenelg), Abbie Cawse (Sturt) Nicole Hobbs (Sturt)

Women’s Coach of the Year: Graham Sedunary (Glenelg)

2021-22 West End Premier Cricket Men’s Team of the Year – voted on by captains and coaches of each club: Kyle Brazell (Adelaide University), Isaac Higgins (Glenelg), William Bosisto (c) (Adelaide University), Thomas Kelly (Sturt), Daniel Drew (West Torrens), Joshua Doyle (Kensington), Isaac Conway (wk) (Port Adelaide), Daniel Fallins (West Torrens), Spencer Johnson (West Torrens), Adam Somerfield (Tea Tree Gully), Tim Oakley (Tea Tree Gully), Elliot Opie (Kensington)

Men’s Coach of the Year: Peter Muggleton (Sturt)

Spirit of Cricket Award:

Women’s: Adelaide University
Men’s: Glenelg

Premier Cricket Umpire of the Year:
 Craig Thomas

Premier Cricket Volunteer of the Year: David Boschma (Glenelg)

Shelley Nitschke Medal(Twenty20 Cup Player of the Series): Eliza Doddridge (Kensington)

Marg Jude Wicketkeeping Trophy: Rachel Church (Kensington)

Joanne Broadbent Fielding Trophy: Maggie Clark (West Torrens)

Fred Godson Medal (West End One Day Cup Player of the Series): Lewis Evans (East Torrens)

Darren Lehmann Medal(West End Twenty20 Cup Player of the Series): William Bosisto (Adelaide University)

CW Walker Memorial Trophy (Most Outstanding Wicketkeeper): Joshua Barrett (Southern District)

Talbot Smith Fielding Trophy: Michael McDonald (Port Adelaide), Thomas Kelly (Sturt)

Jason Gillespie Medal(Male Rising Star): Harry Matthias (Sturt)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

CSA mourns the passing of Umpire, Shaun George

Photo Credit: Lee Warren - Gallo Image/Cricket South Africa It is with deep sadness and heavy hearts that Cricket South...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter