Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Sydney Thunder: HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup Preview

Must Read

Photo Credit: Sydney Thunder

Pool matches and finals set to be run across one action-packed day at Raby Sports Complex

The ninth annual HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup is set to be run across one action-packed day this weekend.

Teams representing six communities – Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka – will face off in a series of pool matches before the top four progress to the finals.

All eyes will be on reigning champions India as they look to go back-to-back, while Pakistan will be hoping to reclaim the title they last won in 2020.

The HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup exists to give individuals the opportunity to connect with their community and celebrate culture through cricket.

Trudi Busch, Director of Marketing, Sponsorship and Community at HomeWorld, said the reason HomeWorld – who manage and develop the largest new home display villages across NSW – continue to support the Thunder Nation Cup is because its values extend beyond the cricket field.

“We are committed to partnering with Sydney Thunder to deliver the HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup each year,” said Busch.

“Not only is it an important initiative that brings communities together, but it is a wonderful celebration of cricket and culture. 

“We look forward to watching the tournament being played, and the pride and passion that each player will bring to their game as they represent their country.”

Team Afghanistan

Ridwan Rahmatullah (C)

Nazir Shinwari

Naqib Akbari

Haroon Ahmadzai

Modacer Nomandi

Abdul Qahar Qazizada

Kahlil ur Rehman

Hilal Tawakal

Shafi Shinwari

Sultan Kakar

Team Bangladesh

Akther Hussain

Anirban Maitra

Rahid Alam

Jawad Rashid Rakin

Sadi Rahaman

Ismail Bin

Ariful Hasan Sobuj

Fazle Rabbi

Mohammad Ismail Ahmed

Shafquat Ahmed Siyam

Team India

Arun Chauhan (C)

Smit Doshi

Siddarth Peepat

Dhiraj Sharma

Kunwardeep Singh Brar

Mandar Marigudi

Javed Ahmed Mohammad

Pushpinder Jassal

Eknoor Singh

Vishesh Chaudhary

Team Nepal

Ayush Jung Thada

Bhuwan Karki

Dewesh Soni

Mausuf Jung Rana

Rupesh Shrestha

Sandesh Acharya

Subodh Basnet

Sujan Karki

Yuvraj Malla

Uddhav Dahal

Saroj Pathak

Team Pakistan

Asad Usman (C)

Ahmed Mehran

Danial Nasir

Hamza Rana

Kaleem Jan

Muhammad Mujahid

Muhammad Shakeel

Sajjad Qaiser

Zain Ali Mahavai

Team Sri Lanka

Kavinan Selvaruban

Angasan Muthulingam

Samantha dinesh Kumara Marakkala manage

Thanusraj Yogeswaran

Suthakar pillay Rajaguru senathipillay

Pragash Payson Payson Sriranjan

Tarik Viswasam

Don Liyanagr

Madushan Bandara

Michael Liguory

Event Information

Spectators are welcome to attend the finals at Raby Sports Complex. Entry is free.

The first pool game is scheduled to begin at 9:00am and the grand final is scheduled for 6:00pm.

All games will be played in a modified format, with eight players per side and six overs in each innings.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket Australia: Australia A v India A Showdowns Part of the Blockbuster Indian Summer

Photo Credit: South Australian Cricket Association Two four-day matches between Australia A and India A and a three-day internal match...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter