Sunday, April 21, 2024

NZC: Latham to lead ODI team against Sri Lanka | Bowes and Lister earn maiden ODI call-ups

Must Read

Photo Credit: Auckland Cricket

Tom Latham will lead an ODI Squad against Sri Lanka featuring two potential debutants for the BLACKCAPS in the format. 

Canterbury’s Chad Bowes and Auckland Ace Ben Lister are the two uncapped players in the ODI squad to face Sri Lanka.

Lister is fresh off his T20I debut for New Zealand in India last month while Bowes has earned his first selection in a BLACKCAPS squad.

Bowes is Canterbury’s leading white ball run scorer this season with 373* List A runs at 46.63 and 359 T20 runs at 39.89.

The squad for the three match ANZ ODI Series will assemble in two phases with the first group featuring players also participating in the Indian Premier League.

ODI Squad regulars Kane Williamson (Gujarat Titans), Tim Southee (Kolkata Knight Riders) and Devon Conway (Chennai Super Kings) will be released early to the IPL after participating in the ongoing Dulux Test Series against Sri Lanka, as will Mitchell Santner (Chennai Super Kings) at the request of his franchise. 

Following the first ODI at Eden Park on the 25th of March, Finn Allen (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Lockie Ferguson (Kolkata Knight Riders) and Glenn Phillips (Sunrisers Hyderabad) will leave the squad and travel to India. 

The departure of those players will see Mark Chapman, Ben Lister and Henry Nicholls join up with the squad ahead of the second ODI at Hagley Oval.

Another feature of the squad is the return of Tom Blundell and Will Young to international white ball cricket.

BLACKCAPS coach Gary Stead said the series against Sri Lanka presents a big opportunity for a range of players.

“It’s always exciting as a coach to have new players in the environment and to have players putting their hands up to be selected again in a particular format.

“Chad has been impressive for a number of seasons at the top of the order for Canterbury as well as being an excellent fielder.” 

“We are set to play 16 white ball matches between now and the start of May so there will be a number of chances for players to test themselves in familiar and unfamiliar conditions.” 

“Tom Blundell, in particular, is someone who we’ve been hugely impressed by in international cricket over the past 18 months as a leader in the Test team and then domestically with the Wellington Firebirds.

“It’s an exciting opportunity for Tom ahead of a big year of white ball cricket.” Stead said Lister’s selection was testament to his determination to recover from illness and injury.

“Ben’s had a challenging time in the past six to seven months but he’s back fit again and we are really excited by the point of difference he brings to the bowling group.” 

ODI Squad to face Sri Lanka 

Tom Latham (c) 

Finn Allen (ODI 1) 

Tom Blundell

Chad Bowes*

Michael Bracewell

Mark Chapman (ODI 2 & 3)

Lockie Ferguson (ODI 1)

Matt Henry

Ben Lister* (ODI 2 & 3)

Daryl Mitchell

Henry Nicholls (ODI 2 & 3)

Glenn Phillips (ODI 1)

Henry Shipley

Ish Sodhi

Blair Tickner

Will Young

*Potential debut 

The ODI Squad for the opening ANZ ODI against Sri Lanka will assemble in Auckland on Wednesday 22 March.

ANZ NZ and New Zealand Cricket have combined forces to assist the New Zealand Red Cross New Zealand Disaster Fund, dedicating the opening ODI of the Sri Lanka-BLACKCAPS ODI series (at Eden Park on Saturday, 25 March) to raising funds for those adversely affected by the weather events.

The fundraising initiative, to be known as “Pitch In”, will start with ANZ NZ donating $1m to the cause and NZC donating all ticket sales from the match.

Public can text DONATE to 540 to receive a link to the donation site, with funds going directly to the New Zealand Red Cross New Zealand Disaster Fund.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

ECB: Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy 2024 – team-by-team guide

Photo Credit: ECB The Blaze Previewed by Jon Culley - ECB Reporters Network Captain: Kirstie Gordon Head Coach: Chris Guest 2023 finish: Runners-up 2023 highest...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter