PCB: Pakistan Women A to take on West Indies Women A in the T20 tri-series final on Wednesday

Must Read

Photo Credit: Pakistan Cricket Board

  • Toss will be conducted at 0930 PKT and play will begin at 1000 PKT
  • Match to be streamed on PCB’s YouTube Channel

Pakistan Women A and West Indies Women A are set to play the final of the T20 tri-series on 8 November at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore. The toss will be conducted at 0930 PKT and the first ball will be bowled at 1000 PKT. The match will be live-streamed on PCB’s YouTube Channel.

Leading up to the final, the tri-series saw three matches played at the same venue. The three participating teams – Pakistan Women A, West Indies Women A and Thailand Women Emerging – played two matches each.

The hosts won both their games, whereas West Indies Women A defeated Thailand Women Emerging, with the latter losing both their matches.

Pakistan opener Shawaal Zulfiqar has been leading the batting charts having scored an unbeaten half-century (67 not out, 66b, 10x4s) against Thailand Women Emerging in the third match of the series. Sidra Nawaz also scored an undefeated half-century (54 not out, 40b, 7x4s), which came against West Indies Women A in the first match.

In their two games, West Indies off spinner Shennata Grimmond has taken three wickets at an average of 4.33. Fast bowlers Jannilea Glasgow, Qiana Joseph and Jahzara Claxton have accounted for three wickets each as well. Pakistan skipper Rameen Shamim, fellow off spin bowler Omaima Sohail and pacer Humna Bilal have also claimed three wickets in two games.

Rameen Shamim, Pakistan Women A captain, while speaking to PCB Digital said: “We have two consecutive wins under our belt in this T20 tri-series and are banking on the wave of momentum. The girls are really confident and we back ourselves completely to win the final as well.”

West Indies Women A captain Rashada Williams stated: “Even though we lost to Pakistan earlier in the series, it was a close encounter and we’ll be confident to turn it around this time. With the win against Thailand Emerging, we are now looking to capitalise on the winning momentum and clinch the trophy.”

After the completion of the tri-series, Pakistan Women A will play two T20 matches against Thailand Women Emerging on 10 and 11 November, at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.

Pakistan Women A Squad: Rameen Shamim (captain), Amber Kainat, Anosha Nasir, Eyman Fatima, Fatima Shahid, Gull Feroza (wk), Gull Rukh, Humna Bilal, Kaynat Hafeez, Noreen Yaqoob, Omaima Sohail, Saima Malik, Shawaal Zulfiqar, Sidra Nawaz (wk) and Tasmia Rubab


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

ECB: The Hundred teams announce retained players on Deadline Day

Photo Credit: ECB Men’s and women’s teams confirm retained players for fourth year of The Hundred 137 players have...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter