Thursday, April 18, 2024

Cricket NSW announces teams for National Indigenous Cricket Championships 2024

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket NSW

Cricket NSW has announced the NSW Men’s and Women’s teams set to play at the National Indigenous Cricket Championships (NICC) from February 22-27 at Mparntwe (Alice Springs).

The men’s squad will be captained by Dunghutti man Brendan Smith, while longstanding captain Wiradjuri woman Julie Muir will be at the helm of the women’s team.

The men’s team will look to compete for a fifth straight title this year after completing their four-peat against Tasmania last year. The women’s side, which reached the finals of the NICC last year and went down to Queensland, will look to bring the trophy home during this edition, like every other year the team has participated in.

Now in its seventh year, the championships form part of Australian cricket’s elite development pathway, with the aim of having more Indigenous cricketers represent Australia at the highest level.

This is the second season that the two teams have been supported by the CNSW Foundation to be able to compete at the championships.

Cricket NSW would like to thank Charter Hall, the Official Partner of the NSW Indigenous Women’s Team, for their support.

Men’s Squad: 

Marty Jeffrey – Tubba Gar Wiradjuri / RSL Colts Dubbo
Lesley Smith – Biripi & Dunghutti / Warnavale CC
Austyn Nugent – Wiradjuri / St Kilda CC
Jack Hartigan – Gundungurra / St George DCC
Damien Duroux – Gumbaynggirr / North West Sydney CC
Patrick Rosser – Wiradjuri / Cugden CC
Brett Russell – Dunghutti & Biripi / Warnavale CC
Kobe Ross –  Kaiwalagal / Sutherland CC
Evan Pitt – Western Arrarnta / Parramatta DCC
Ben Patterson – Wiradjuri / CYMS Dubbo
Ethan Fitzpatrick – Ngunnawal / Ginninderra CC
Max Farmer – Wonnarua / Fairfield Liverpool CC
Brendan Smith [c] – Dunghutti / Campbelltown Camden CC
Blake Smith – Wiradjuri / Campbelltown Camden CC

Coach – Jeff Cook – Kamilaroi
Manager – Anthony Kershler

Women’s Squad: 

Aimee Ravot – Wiradjuri / Penrith CC
Anika Learoyd – Gumbaynggirr / Campbelltown Camden CC
Callee Black – Wiradjuri / Penrith CC
Dharmini Chauhan – Wiradjuri / Bankstown CC
Hannah Darlington – Kamilaroi / Campbelltown Camden CC
Julie Muir [c] – Wiradjuri / Campbelltown Camden CC
Sasha Croft – Gurindji, Malgnin & Mudpurra / St George-Sutherland DCC
Mackenzie Keeler – Kamilaroi
Maddison Spence – Wiradjuri / Bankstown CC
Piper Hooke – Northeast Wiradjuri / Northern Districts CC
Roxsanne Van-Veen – Gundungurra / Western Lithgow CC
Sara Darney – Wiradjuri / Wellington DCC
Taleha Urszulak – Wadi Wadi/Dharawal  / Campbelltown Camden CC

Coach – Kerry Marshall
Manager – Hannah Trethewy


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket Scotland: ICC CWCL2 series postponed until July

Photo Credit: Cricket Scotland Cricket Scotland can today confirm the postponement of the Men’s ICC CWCL2 fixtures between Scotland, Namibia,...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter