Dolphins Cricket: Smith the big winner at Dolphins Awards | cricexec

Dolphins Cricket: Smith the big winner at Dolphins Awards

Must Read

Photo Credit: Rogan Ward/ Hollywoodbets Dolphins

Hollywoodbets Dolphins all-rounder Jason Smith was the big winner at the Dolphins end of season awards, as he took home the Player of the Year and the Players’ Player of the Year awards on Wednesday night.

Smith played a crucial role with the bat in the Dolphins’ successful 4-Day Domestic Series campaign. He finished as the Dolphins’ highest run scorer and ended the competition with an average of nearly 56.

The middle order batsman played a number of crucial knocks in the competition but his 136 against North West helped set up a dominant win that was crucial in helping the Dolphins to a second competition title in three seasons.

Smith also produced some fine performances with the bat in the One Day Cup which saw him finish as the Dolphins’ second highest run scorer.

Prenelan Subrayen was announced as the CSA 4-Day Domestic Series player of the season as he finished as the competition’s second highest wicket taker with 29 wickets and best match figures of 11/97. Subrayen finished with two five wicket hauls and one ten wicket haul in the competition.

Jon-Jon Smuts and Jason Smith were the other nominees for the award.

From a 50 over cricket perspective, the player of the season went to one of the Dolphins’ best break-out players Brad Porteous. Porteous made an immediate impact on the side and scored one century and fifty in the tournament that saw him finish as the best Dolphins batsman.

Jason Smith was once again a nominee along with all-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo who finished the competition with twelve wickets.

the CSA T20 Challenge Player of the Season nominees were Grant Roelofsen, Ottniel Baartman and Eathan Bosch with all three playing important roles in the Dolphins’ charge to the final of the tournament.

Ultimately it was Grant Roelofsen who won the award after he finished as the competition’s leading run scorer with 333 runs in nine matches at an average of 47.57.

“We would like to congratulate all award winners and thank them for all they contributed to the Hollywoodbets Dolphins over the past season,” President of the KwaZulu-Natal Cricket Union Yunus Bobat said.

“The Dolphins had another season to remember, and we must commend the entire squad on their efforts throughout the season.

“The management, coaches and players can be very proud of all their efforts, and we look forward to building on this from the start of next season.”

The CEO of KZN Cricket Heinrich Strydom was complimentary of the players for what was another enthralling season of cricket both at Hollywoodbets Kingsmead Stadium and around the country.

“It was another exciting season for the Hollywoodbets Dolphins and to win the CSA 4-Day Domestic Series for the second time in three seasons was far and above the highlight,” Strydom said.

“Once again the players showed incredible character to claim four wins in a row to win the competition and it’s very encouraging to see many different players sticking up their hands and contributing.

“A huge congratulations to all the prize winners but it’s a complete squad effort and we are very proud of what the players produced this season.”

Hollywoodbets Dolphins Awards 2022/23

CSA 4-Day Series Nominees:
Jon-Jon Smuts, Prenelan Subrayen, Jason Smith

Winner: Prenelan Subrayen

CSA Provincial 1-Day Cup Nominees:
Brad Porteous, Jason Smith, Andile Phehlukwayo

Winner: Brad Porteous

CSA T20 Challenge Nominees:
Grant Roelofsen, Ottniel Baartman, Eathan Bosch

Winner: Grant Roelofsen

Hollywoodbets Dolphins Player of the Year:
Jason Smith

Hollywoodbets Dolphins Players’ Player of the Year:
Jason Smith


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

SLC: Sri Lanka Men’s Team FTP 2024

Photo Credit: Sri Lanka Cricket The Sri Lanka National Team will commence its 2024 international cricket calendar with a home...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter