Sydney Sixers: Sixers are BBL|09 champions | cricexec

Sydney Sixers: Sixers are BBL|09 champions

Must Read

Photo Credit: Sydney Sixers

The Sydney Sixers have won the Big Bash League title for the second time after defeating the Melbourne Stars by 19 runs at the SCG in a rain-shortened Final on Saturday night.

After the SCG ground staff did an outstanding job getting the pitch ready given the wet weather, the Sixers successfully defended 5/116 from their 12 overs with the Stars 6/97 in reply.

The Sixers first title came in BBL|01.

The sweet hitting of Player of the Final Josh Philippe with his fifth half-century of the season was pivotal.

Philippe finished with 52 from 29 balls, including three sixes. He made 487 runs at an average of almost 38 this season.

Jordan Silk remained unbeaten 27 not out from 15 that featured one big hit into the Ladies Stand.

Then as they have done all season, the Sixers attack kept the run rate in check. The spin duo of Nathan Lyon (2-19), opening the attack and Stephen O’Keefe, 2-27 from three overs, were the stand outs.

O’Keefe claiming the crucial scalp of Glenn Maxwell for 5, while Lyon picked up Marcus Stoinis for 10 in the first over.

Paceman Josh Hazlewood also claimed 1-18 from three overs.

Scorecard here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Coaching call ups – Lions Cricket pack more power into the Pride

Photo Credit: Lions Cricket Lions Cricket are proud to welcome their newest teammates in former players Trisha Chetty and Allan...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter